Connect with us


Nine Black Knights make Phil Steele all-Independent first team

Army is ranked No. 1 in the country in total defense with one game left in the college football season.

The Black Knights’ defense was rewarded for its breakout year under first-year coordinator Nate Woody with five first-team picks on Phil Steele’s all-Independent team.

Linebackers Jon Rhattigan and Arik Smith, nose tackle Nolan Cockrill, safety Cedrick Cunningham and cornerback Julian McDuffie earned first-team honors.

Army totaled nine first teamers on a list that included BYU, Liberty and UMass players.

Quarterback Tyhier Tyler, guard Peyton Reeder, tackle JB Hunter and long snapper Kyle O’Connor were also named to the first team.

Second-team picks were fullback Jakobi Buchanan, slotback Tyrell Robinson, defensive end Amadeo West and punter Zach Harding.

Senior guard and captain Mike Johnson was a glaring omission. Johnson started every game and was Army’s most consistent offensive linemen. Sophomore safety Marquel Broughton also was surprisingly not selected.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Frederica Daniels

    January 9, 2021 at 1:26 AM

    It was shocking to me as well but I am so happy fir our team as a whole. We know if one was selected it represented the whole Army Football Team. So Proud Of This Team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.


Support Black Knight Nation

Follow Us On Twitter

More in Football