Connect with us


Army Football Banquet: Rhattigan MVP

Senior linebacker Jon Rhattigan earned the Thruston Hughes Memorial Award as the 2020 team’s most valuable player at the Army football banquet Saturday.

Rhattigan produced an all-American season in his first year as a starter, tying for the team lead in tackles (78) and tackles for loss (9). He addressed the team with a quote that he lives by every day, ‘When the going gets tough, the tough get going.” Rhattigan rose from a special teams player his junior season to a potential NFL draft pick.

“I think back on all of the past years and I’m sure you guys are aware that things weren’t easy,” Rhattigan said after receiving his award. “It was definitely a long road and along the way, I have really grown as a person and I’m very thankful for that.”

Mike Johnson, now a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army, received two honors. Johnson, a guard, was named the Chase Prasnicki Memorial Award winner as the senior player who best displays the characteristics of the former Army football quarterback and safety. He was the also Army Lifter of The Year after his work in the weight room following knee and shoulder surgeries.

“Over my years here, I have come to learn a lot more about Chase and who he was as a teammate, who he was as a man, friend and a husband,” Johnson said. “To be even put in the same category and the same sentence as a man like Chase is incredibly honoring and humbling for me. I couldn’t think of any better honor.”

Defensive end Amadeo West, who is currently in Basic Officer Leaders Course training after graduating West Point, was the recipient of the Black Lion Award for his leadership and courage.

Sophomore safety Marquel Broughton received the Anthony Miller Coaching Staff Award as the team’s most inspirational player.

COL Thruston Hughes Memorial Award (team MVP): Jon Rhattigan

Black Lion Award (Given for leadership, courage, devotion and selfless service): Amadeo West

Chase Prasnicki Memorial Award (senior player who best displays characteristics of former Army football player Chase Prasnicki): Mike Johnson

Anthony Miller Coaching Staff Award (team’s most inspirational player): Marquel Broughton

Creighton W. Abrams Memorial Award (Team captains): Mike Johnson, Sandon McCoy, Amadeo West

LTG Garrison Davidson Award (graduating senior who maintains highest military grade): Jordan Blackman

Major William C. Whitehead Jr. Memorial Award (graduating senior with highest class standing): Michael Leisle

Thomas West Hammond Memorial Award (outstanding lineman): Nolan Cockrill

COL. James B. Gillespie Memorial Award (player who displays outstanding dedication, unfailing performance and is consistent contributor to team): Arik Smith

COL Joel B. “Dopey” Stephens Award (outstanding offensive and defensive scout team player): Markens Pierre, Austin Hill

Army Lifter of the Year (player who performed at high level in weight room): Mike Johnson



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.


Support Black Knight Nation

Follow Us On Twitter

More in Football